Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Marking Her Territory

Meet Zippy, my little guy.  This female Anna's has adopted my feeder as her own.  I spent most of the day watching her being the biggest bully in the playground.  Any hummingbird that even came into my yard got chased out post haste!

I saw some interesting battles when they got near the feeder.  They really went at it, but Zippy always won.  She would then sit on the perch - not drinking  - but watching around her for others who might be threatening her territory.

That is what she is doing in this picture.  Scoping out the yard for anyone who might want to share in her bounty.  It's kind of fun to watch her in action -  nature in its purest form right before my eyes.

EDIT: Zippy would later be the name of a Costa's hummingbird which would claim the territory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.