Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My First, Very Own Backyard Hummingbird!!!!

It's nothing special to look at, not fluttering in the air or visiting with its buddies.  But it is the very first hummingbird I have seen on my very own feeder!

I have had it hanging for three days, watching it like a hawk.  Nada.  Doesn't mean there haven't been any.  But when I was out in the yard this morning, I heard the familiar buzzing around my head.

One was scoping it out but wouldn't land.  I got my camera and sat with my coffee on the patio until it got ice cold.  Nothing.

Then...when I was inside watching through the (dirty...I'll have to do something about that) glass door, one landed for a sip of my carefully measured sugar water.

I grabbed my camera, focused on the feeder...and when it came back...snap!

Then it was gone...and to the best of my knowledge, hasn't been back.

So, mark it down.  Laurie nabbed her very own personal hummingbird at 9:09 am on September 30, 2013.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.