The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

After the rain

...this squash flower in the front garden caught both our attention. I'm glad I managed to snap it before I left for work, as I did not get back till after 11pm. Busy...

The one magazine article I ever read on photography was about photographing flowers. It said you should try to shoot from unusual angles. This is what I've done, which is why you get a free Himalayan Balsam petunia flower in shot, too.

My second course started today. The first course is in Life Writing with the Uni of Exeter and is a virtual course called DCL10, or something equally inspiring. The second one is called Literature and Social History of the War years, 1939-45 and is run by the Workers Educational Association (WEA). As a result of my enthusing about the course last year, two of my friends have decided to join, and recruited two more. Which is very jolly, but I quite like doing stuff with new people, too! I guess next year I'll take up quilting in a town hall in Ulan Bator, and keep schtum about it.
The new venue, a community centre in Stonehouse, is chilly but more suitable than the previous one, where getting a seat was a tussle, and the blackout curtains had been sold, resulting in us being unable to see the film clips adequately.

After this jollification I went back to my friends' house, and later we went to the Bristol Old Vic to see Great Expectations, directed by Neil Bartlett. Unusual, exciting, passionate. Some of our party felt that not enough loose ends were tied up in the second half. Personally, when Miss Havisham's wedding dress went up in flames, I almost cried.

Eventually I got home and went straight to bed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.