The Wren

By TheWren

Elusive beauty

This is the second of my backblips, the first being yesterday.

Today the dogs and I set off to Carradale to meet up with fellow blipper alasdairb and his wife .... If I can work out how to do a link on blipster I will add it later.

We were meeting at 1pm so I wanted to give the dogs a good walk first so they wouldn't be too energetic! Coming off the main road onto the narrow road which eventually leads to Carradale, I came across the most wonderful views of the island of Arran and I just wanted to stop every five minutes to take a picture as the light and clouds kept changing. As it was a very narrow road I had to take my chances in passing places and just hope that two cars wouldn't converge in opposite directions and need my 'space'. I just loved this particular shot showing the obvious mixture of sunshine and showers over the hills and glens on the island.

I eventually found a link to the Kintyre Way very close to Carradale so it was perfect for a walk in the forest with more views of Arran and huge tracts of land for the dogs to run in. The Kintyre Way is an 87 mile network of paths criss crossing the Mull of Kintyre from Tarbert down to Campbeltown, much going through Forestry Commission land and farmland with the occasional sections along minor roads. You can dip in and out of it in several places.

I arrived at the delightful home of alasdairb and Mrs B on time and found a wonderful welcome and we quickly slipped into conversation as if we had known each other for ages - which of course we have, thanks to blip. After a very tasty lunch and much chat we set off so they could show me a bit of their Waterfoot paradise and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing where so many fabulous sunrises had been shared with us all. Cara and Bruce showed no signs of having already had a very long walk and were eager to set off again, exploring new water holes and exciting smells. I blotted my copy book by carelessly losing my camera case - far too interested in the chat - but thankfully alasdairb found it the next morning during his run and we are now reunited.

Thank you both for a superb afternoon and warm welcome and I look forward to showing you a bit of Perthshire one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.