NinjaShoe

By NinjaShoe

Holttum's Store

The second in my ladders "series". (if two can be called a series).

I have watched friend Ewen painstakingly chip off the front of his High Street house for the last month and a half! Apparently the whole thing needs removing & cracks filling, as well as preserving and restoring. Although I found it quite thrilling to see the old Holttums sign re-appearing, from 1890's, I don't envy him the job!

The house commands a whole page in the Linton in Pictures book, (which every household got a copy of in 2006) - since it was a large drapery and grocery store, and Richard Holttham a significant Linton resident - he also ran the village post office from 1869-1896.

Ewen still has a way to go in repairing the frontage as he wants to do it with longevity in mind and in sympathy with the old building.

I expect to see him out there for a few more weeks yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.