Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

PINK DAY 3 - A PROLIFERATION OF PERCY PIGS

I wonder if those outside the UK know about Percy Pigs? They are pig-shaped gummy, jelly and foam sweets, flavoured with fruit juice, introduced into Marks & Spencer in the 1990s, loved by children but also, I am sure, by some adults too, and apparently 2 are eaten every second! For the sake of the Breast Cancer Awareness Month challenge, the main thing about them is that they are PINK!!

Apparently, they are of the nation's favourites but also one of the most unhealthy. For every Percy Pig you eat, you get 25 calories - eat 10 and you've had over half your recommended sugar intake for the whole day. I guess on a Fasting Day that means I could eat 20 Percy Pigs throughout the day for my 500 calories and not feel guilty - but the downside is that I would probably feel very sick :-(

Actually, you couldn't eat the ones in my blip, because they are soft toys - not soft sweets - and I have to say that after our coffee in M & S, Mr. HCB hurriedly walked away when he caught me gathering up the Percy Pigs and Piglets ready to take a photograph. Some people just don't understand blipping or blippers!

I guess the secret is moderation - and that is true in all aspects of our lives - whether it be eating sweets, chocolates, drinking or blipping!

As my blipper friend, SweetArt says, this is an American site, but please feel free to click so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram (where these are paid for, and not free, as they are in the UK) can have one that might just save their life.

“All things in moderation, including moderation.”
Attributed to both Mark Twain and Oscar Wilde - take your pick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.