Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

PINK DAY 2 - ALL LIFE IS HERE

I have been reminded today of the fragility of life - and how precious it is.

We are now back home in Wiltshire and of course, I had to have a walk round the garden - a lot can happen in a month!

Continuing with the pink theme for Breast Cancer Awareness Month, I saw this beautiful rose and realised that all life is here in this cluster of roses - from the closely formed bud to the slightly open rose, to the full blown rose and then the seed head where the petals have dropped. I just wish I could bottle the perfume from this rose - it was wonderful!

I wrote this poem in 1989 - just before a very traumatic event in June of that year.

THE ROSE

Just as the rose petals open up to me
So I want you to open up yourself;
I want you to be open
in every part of your life.

Just as a rose bush needs
goodness in the soil to grow
So I want you to draw
your goodness from me –
that you may grow sturdy and strong.

Just as the rose bush needs pruning
to produce beautiful blooms,
So I want to prune you
so that you may produce beautiful flowers for me.

Just as the rose bush needs to be dis-budded
to produce bigger blooms,
So I need to dis-bud your life
of all that is wrong,
So that you may bloom for me.

So – open up, draw strength,
be pruned and dis-budded
that I may produce
perfect blooms
in your life.

Written whilst at Longmead (Sacred Dance Group) England
15 April 1989

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.