Burgundy Dahlia

The GOG’s condition is similar today to yesterday, although he is now eating a little, but how anyone can eat tomato soup for breakfast I do not know; he said it was nice. Lunch looked disgusting and if they had served it to me I would have sent it back; I was not there at the time. Fried potatoes, which were rather overcooked, dried up peas and an omelette; he ate a few mouthfuls of the omelette. There were no suitable puddings, but they said they would get him a banana. At 1400 hours I went down to the concourse and purchased one banana and a strawberry yogurt; he ate most of the banana. His supper was more tomato soup, which he ate, but left the jelly and ice cream. The promised banana appeared at supper time. We do not expect five star food, but when they are trying to get patients better, decent food always helps.

The good news is that the surgeon, who I also saw, was very pleased with his progress and although he is still on the Intermediate Dependency Unit, he does not need that level of care. Unfortunately they cannot move him as L4, where he is going, do not have a bed. The other good news is that they are aiming to get him home next Tuesday; personally I think that is a bit optimistic, but we shall see.

Today I chose this burgundy Dahlia flower for him and although he is not currently looking at Blip, this flower will not survive until he is home.

Many thanks everyone for your continued good wishes which I have passed onto him.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.