Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Home movies

The mother in law watching old super 8 home movies in a makeshift cinema in my dining room (very) late last night. I had been asked if I could get her old Agfa viewer working earlier in the week but after several enquiries, I came to the conclusion that it wasn't economically feasible. Best bet was to take a punt on a cheap projector on eBay and hope for the best. Picked a Boots model from about 1981 and got it for a very reasonable £35 posted. Price new in 1981 was £81.95!

It arrived yesterday minus instructions. Real men don't need instructions, so I spent a nervous 30 minutes trying to run a reel of film through it. Remarkably, I finally figured everything out and didn't damage any films in the process.

Invited the mother in law round, set up this temporary arrangement and then spent several hours loading, running and rewinding films. There is something magical about watching these old films, even the ones that included people I don't know. It's like looking back in time. Especially pleasant though were the films that we had shot of our two eldest children that I had completely forgotten about (the films, not the children). So much better than looking at still photos and boy have they changed. Matthew was so blond and is now so dark.

Getting the family together for a buffet tea and going to do it all again on Saturday. £35 well spent I would say.

Breaking news - just had confirmation that the target for redundancies in my group has been reduced to zero so we are all safe which is excellent news. It would have been a bummer to be the one chosen to leave and awful to rejoice because someone else was chosen and not you. This way it is nothing but good news all round. I feel a need for a celebratory drink this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.