Crested Grebe on the Kaituna River

We're very lucky to have these birds right on our doorstep really. Crested Grebes are usually found in the high country lakes, like Lakes Pearson, Alexandrina, Grassmere etc, and it is believed that the Kaituna is the only river in the country upon which these beautiful birds breed.

I'm still waiting to capture a mother grebe with a baby on its back like I did last year. I'm not sure if this handsome bird is a male or female (their plumage is very similar) but here's hoping that the little ones make an appearance again soon.

It's been a good day today, the good weather ensuring I got some outside jobs done to go with the photography. Apparently we're due for more tomorrow, so I might see if I can get an early start.

I shot this picture on the way back from a brief stop off at Sunset Point; I have spotted some White Heron's off the point during the week, so I was hoping to see them once more. Unfortunately, they were out of reach of my 400mm lens, so I'll have to make an appointment with the kotuku some other time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.