Bashed, Bruised, Beaten But not Broken!

And still my Baby Boy!

Poor Lewis. A school rugby match culminated in him being taken to Ninewells Hospital in an ambulance - spinal board and neck brace free of charge!

Thankfully, after a VERY thorough check over and x-rays, he was declared OK to come home.

The downside: his favourite rugby pads and school strip had to be cut to allow the medics access to his neck, my only updates were via text messages from his dad and I was trying to work during all this! And all 3 missed out on the private school bacon rolls!

The upside: he's fine, the NHS were amazing and I am very grateful to everyone who looked after him (big brother included, who went in the ambulance with him) and to friends who have buoyed me up with supportive texts.

With all that is going on in the USA at the moment, I have to admit I felt VERY VERY grateful for the amazing healthcare system we have in this country - on site medics, prompt and professional ambulance service, instant pain relief, quick transfer, efficient triage, x-rays and multiple doctors - for free!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.