Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Standalone 10K

A beautiful day for this years Standalone, if a bit warm for me. I was pleased with my time, a post-William PB and four mins faster than I ran at Baldock a few weeks ago. I thought I had set off steadily enough, but still felt awful in the last mile and a half. My steady was actually 6.30miling!!!! Need to sort that out for next weekend or I could be in pain for many miles!

A little time after I had finished the kids got to run their races. They were set off in waves, 11 and over, 6-10 and lastly 5 and under. I ran (behind) Carys in the second wave. She set off at such speed I had to sprint to keep up. She kept it up for most of the way. A slight wobble at one point where she walked about four steps while I asked her what Chrissie Wellington had said to her and she was off again trying to catch the boy in the red top! She finished well ahead of a year 6 from school (Carys is a Year 2) and was rightly pleased with herself.

Jim ran with William. It was his (William's) first ever race. He ran the whole 2K without stopping and loved every minute of it. He finished with a big smile on his face and was justifiably proud of his medal. As we were leaving the farm William piped up with the quote of the day:

"This has been the happiest day of my life!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.