Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Donuts . . .

This is how the day ended... a happy enough one. Actually it was GOOD. Got to work without being stuck in traffic too long. Got rejected by the first taxi man who stopped - he said there was too much traffic on the way to my destination, so please can I try with another taxi!! Cheek!

I was then busy preparing stuff team mates had requested (they are onsite for our big HR Expo) when I was told to be ready in 15 minutes to go for my medical!! This is a requirement to get your residence visa and is essentially an AIDS test. Anyone who doesn't come out with a clean bill of health gets deported. Simple. I got picked up by a young Emirati lad (Hameed) who drove me to the centre whilst searching for pictures of the Sheikh of Sharjah on his smart phone!!! Hameed is such a big fan of the ruler, he follows him on Instagram and Twitter!!! Well, I never!!

Got back home in time to have dinner and do a food shop. SweetArt arrives tomorrow evening and I am fast running out of time!

So - my blip . . . is of Dunkin' Donuts where we went first before our food shop. They had an offer of buy 2 doughnuts and a coffee so we did! Didn't eat both doughnuts I hasten to add!! :P

I am falling asleep again over my laptop and I still have one big thing I want to strike off my list before I get to bed, so good night and I'm sorry if I haven't got to your journal today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.