The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Ghostly windows at Capel's Mill

It can only be a couple of weeks since I blipped a rather scary looking window down by the canal at Stroud Brewery Bridge. Half a mile or so further on, here's another set. Capel's mill viaduct was built of brick to replace the wooden one that had stood there previously. The train passes along the top, just out of shot! I have no idea at present what was made at Capel's mill, but these desolate windows remain, though the canal path has been restored. Grass is growing on top of the 1970s rubbish dump where the new path is sited. There are still chimneys installed to let out the methane gas, and I can't help but compare it to Teletubby land. When I look across from the path to the mill, though, it is more North and South than Ceebeebies!

It was a tedious sort of afternoon: I boarded the bus to Nailsworth to do a treatment, then decided to check my phone. My client had cancelled. Where have I read this before? I got off the bus, but could not phone CleanSteve because the traffic was so loud. Eventually we spoke, and he agreed not to pick me up as arranged beforehand, and when I finally reached Rodborough fields via the back of Kwikfit, I found that the client had been intending to pay me anyway, so that was one less painful conversation...

I passed through the fields, not a great plan for a person with a sprained ankle because they are uneven, but I did need the green space to calm me! Crossed the river Frome at Capel's mill, and continued home via the canal path. Did not go to Waitrose to get my free coffee, did not spend £200...I did walk several miles, though.

Spent the afternoon and evening sorting out the recyclables I have collected for the school's eco day on Wednesday, and planning what on earth to do with them! I now have a collection of little "things I made earlier" and the promise of a volunteer to help me on Weds. Thank goodness for D, my volunteer and playworker's best friend! It's now after 9pm and I haven't even looked online at the new unit of coursework from the Life Writing course. I need more hours!

The viaduct in June this year, just after the new towpath section opened.

The viaduct from the other side, last year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.