wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Art

…I sometimes think, how is anyone ever gonna come up with a book, or a painting, or a symphony, or a sculpture that can compete with a great city. You can't. Because you look around and every street, every boulevard, is its own special art form…
- Gil, Midnight in Paris

Toronto Day 1

Day one in Toronto and it was 'explore the city' day. Tierney had work, so I found my way into town a little later than her, in time for a walking tour. I'd gone through the subway system the day before, as I came in from the airport and met Tierney at a conference. This time I knew where I was going, and was far more successful (the day before I'd got off at the wrong station, and had to smile nicely at the ticket man to let me back on the train). I got off and walked to the Old City Hall, expecting to see a group of people waiting for a tour. There was one guy with a clipboard, and now one else to be seen. I hovered awkeardly, but really I wanted to go on this tour, so I went up to him and said hello. It was looking like I would be the only person on the tour, and I wasn't too sure how that would go. The guide did tell me that we could then basically just make up our own tour route, but I wasn't too sure - there are few tours more awkward than a one on one. A group of four people then turned up and it was time to set off. We first talked about the Old City Hall, now the courts, about the architect and his micro-managing habits, the ghosts, and the cenotaph in front of it. Our next stop was the New City Hall, a 1960s concrete creation. We heard about the current mayor and the controversies surrounding him, and looked at the city model inside. After that we were off to Holy Trinity Church, one of the most heartening and loving churches I've seen for a long time - with doors open, arm chairs, tea, sandwiches for any and all homeless people to come to for shelter. A brief look at the Eaton Centre and we were all done. It was a good tour, with lots of information about the city beyond the area we were looking at.

I then needed some lunch, so I headed into Chinatown to look for some food. I ended up in Tim Hortons, as the first place with food, and ate a bagel while sharing a window with five older Chinese men. All looked at me as though it was strange that I'd be sitting there. I don't know why, and probably never will...

I mosied through Kensington Market, but was getting a little tired and ready for a sit down. So I walked back towards the financial district, found a cafe with a cup of tea and wifi, and sat for a little while, planning the rest of my afternoon. I decided to go to St Lawrence Market, via the Anglican Cathedral. I sat for quite a long time in the cathedral, enjoying the peace from the bustle of outside. The market was great, I bought a couple of presents there, and some fruit.

By that time it was getting on with the afternoon, so I went to meet Tierney at her office. I had to find it first, but succeeded without too much fuss. Getting in was another matter, but the friendliness of Canadians prevailed, and I got there in the end. Tierney and I went off for poutine for dinner, apparently it was essential for me to try such a Canadian delicacy. Very tasty, I had mine with pulled pork.

The finale of our evening was to go up the CN Tower to admire the night lights of Toronto. Here it is. The windows in the viewing platform were reflecting all the lights of the room behind, so photos were pretty tricky. The next floor down had an outdoor platform, but it was all fence in for security, so again there were challenges.

Excellent first day in Toronto. I like it as a city, but I like the people rather than the place - I doubt I could live there, but I did enjoy spending time exploring it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.