Friendship

I saw these two guys engaged in conversation outside the pub and had to wander across to try to catch the spirit of their friendship. Or perhaps they'd only just met. It's possible to meet someone and strike up such an immediate rapport that within minutes you're chatting away as if you've known each other all your life. That's happened to me quite a few times recently.

The weather this last week has been extraordinary. It's October and I've been walking around in shorts and a T-shirt. The evenings have been positively balmy. Stepping out of the house one morning last week I felt like you do when you step out of a plane in Spain after a flight from the UK in winter, the body caught by surprise with the unseasonal warmth. Summer just hasn't wanted to let go - until today. The adjustment to winter is going to be a hard one this year. We've been spoiled.

I was supposed to have a date in Leeds tonight with Forrest, to watch a film, but that got scuppered when a points problem threw the trains into chaos. I had to give up trying to get into Leeds and in the end it's taken me forever to just get back to Ilkley. It's been another long day but I guess I’ve made progress. I've seem to have got a lot done – but mostly solving problems I didn’t actually know I had when I started this morning!

Blipping late and not eaten anything yet. I'll get in trouble if I don't so I better go rustle up some food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.