The nut house

It was a crazy, crazy day.
My granddaughter woke up sick. I called the pediatrician and they said they could take her at 3:15 p.m. It was the worst possible time but it was all they had available. I had to pick my grandson up from school at 2:30 p.m. That meant taking my granddaughter with me to get him from school, and then dropping off my grandson (hoping my husband would be back home) directly to the pediatrician.
I pulled into the driveway, saw my husband’s car (thank goodness) and beeped the horn for him to take my grandson in for a snack and to keep him occupied while I was at the doctors with my granddaughter. This cut in to his work at home but I really could not handle both children at the doctors and did not feel it was fair to take my healthy grandson with me on a sick visit. I drove to the doctors, parked the car and took my granddaughter out of her car seat when the questions started. “This isn’t for my doctor, right Mimi?” “Is this for your doctor Mimi?” Oh boy, I was in for it. She did not want any part of going to see the doctor. I told her the doctor would check us both out. She did not like that either. We got into the waiting room and she said she wanted to leave. It escalated from there into a full-blown yelling episode and my sweating profusely and trying to calm her. Overall, the nurse and the doctor handled it really well. I was falling apart and felt I deserved the lollipop at the end of the visit but felt guilty taking more than one for my granddaughter.
We had two prescriptions to drop off afterwards but I decided to go home first and let us both have time to recover. My daughter had come home in the meantime so it worked out better since I could now go to the pharmacy without having to take anyone with me. My oldest son had also stopped over since he was in the area and my grandson was hanging from his shoulders asking his uncle to give him a ride. I was more than happy to be the one to fetch the prescribed medicines…it was crazy in my house.
Things did not really calm down until 10 p.m. this evening. I realized I needed a blip and plucked the flower out of an arrangement on my dining table and placed it on the tablecloth and took the shot. It worked. I was happy. I will be happier when I am in bed tonight. In between the school, the doctors, watching kids, cooking dinner and running to the pharmacy I had little Tessa to tend to. Her walks were not nearly as long today. I am sure she is annoyed with me but I am too tired to worry about it. Tomorrow is another day. Oh boy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.