Snow and Frost!

Castle Hill Peak and the Gap, of the Torlesse Range. The peak is named after a farm of that name that is on the other side of the mountain. For those interested I have posted three very different photos of Mount Torlesse, that I took in little over three hours. The Moods of Mount Torlesse

There was a frost this morning, but it didn't catch me napping. I was awake before 5am when it was still very dark. The sky was filled with sparkling stars. The grass in my torchlight was sparkling too. Fortified with a cuppa I went to save my fruit trees. Last night I forgot to cover the grape vines in the greenhouse. The temperature in there was already below zero, but I took a small fan heater out and gently warmed the air, hoping that would save the new buds. (Proper safety precautions were met). Armed with my new expanding hose that can be kept inside, I sprayed the fruit trees that it reaches, and used a hand pump on the rest.

After another cuppa, a few jobs and a look through the newspaper, I went on a bliptrip . My son was taking my car to work so that he could pick up the trailer so I had to be back before he needed it. This was a good thing because the glorious morning didn't last long. The mountains were so beautiful. I think there was more snow than for most of the winter.

After breakfast I worked on further preparing the greenhouse and a couple of vegetable plots by digging in bokashi I had made for the purpose. I also made new edging in the greenhouse, and wetted the soil, which was completely dry. This is no easy task. At three o'clock I stopped for lunch. After that I just put things away and stopped to look at my photos. Now I'm wrecked. It will be a homemade meal from the freezer for me tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.