Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

It's Mom's Special Day

< back blip >

Today was mom's birthday.   I told her that next year in September, half-way between both of ours, we'll have a cake with just a big fat "0" on it!  She gave me a small smile.  She's not looking forward to it, except to say she's going to go grey when she hits it.  I personally think it's a sign of giving up.

You might be able to tell the difference between her today, last year and just 2 years ago.  Now, she's on oxygen 24/7 with a fatal lung disease. She's having problems with her memory and I've learned a lot about patience.  Maybe that's why I can sit for hours holding my camera poised waiting for a hummingbird to fly into my frame.

Hanging around my mom has given me pause to reorder my personal priorities.  I want to spend a lot more time with her.  Much more than I am spending with her now.  A phone call every day and visits a few times a week aren't cutting it in my book.

As I wrote two years ago:

Mom's are special. You have to make every moment you have with them count. No matter what their age, or what yours, you never know how long you will be together. When you take your leave, remember to give them a hug or a peck on the cheek and tell them you love them.

Always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.