MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Explosive Energy

As I parked at Glen Faba a big black van with, "Search Dogs" written on it drew up next to me. I love dogs and asked the driver if he had special dogs on board. He had lots in specially designed cages and told me they were trained to search for explosives and suchlike. They exploded out of the back of the van, so excited to be off duty and off the leash. The little black one in my pic is fourteen and still working.

I walked right round Glen Faba lake, a mature gravel pit of one hundred and twenty acres. I saw only a couple of people. It is quite bucolic even though it is in the shadow of Rye House power station. In the 1950s the area used to be a chalet park with shacks, caravans and converted coaches that people used for weekends and holidays. Alan Whicker visited and called it a shanty town. Even though people used to love it there I think it is just as well that it was compulsorily purchased and now the area is a haven for waterfowl and wildlife that can be enjoyed by all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.