Bumps in the Road

By JimJ

Blind politics

Nikki and her cousin Mylan headed out to dinner tonight leaving me and the wee man the house to ourselves. With the split of allegiances in our house (England, Scotland, Australia and the US), I was the only one watching the football - not that the others are particularly bothered mind you. I must say that were it not for my knee injury, I probably wouldn't be watching the football either! Ever since I left the UK to sample life abroad, my opinion of international football has been in state of change. Having originally become more patriotic, over time I became disillusioned with blind patriotism and considered myself more of a "world citizen". I grew to despise the blatant xenophobia that went hand in hand with supporting my national team, and the incrimination that went along with them. The proud patriotism that I exuberated in my youth has seeped away in tandem with the recent rise of the extreme-right. Sorry, I digress. This isn't a political blog. This is a blog about the wee man in the bath.

In other news, the wee man and I hobbled to the shops again today. More compliments flowed his way, naturally. Thankfully my knee is continuing to improve so with a little luck I'll be back at work on Monday.

Oh, and my mum's Etsy shop is almost set up. I'll be sure to post the link once it's all finished. She's been busy beavering away making rhyme bags to help fund our Christmas trip to Australia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.