Bumps in the Road

By JimJ

On the job

Today was the first time that we've had as a family to enjoy our new house together. So, like all good families, we went to IKEA. Although I've sworn never to enter again, this particular trip was strategic. We knew what we wanted. We got in. And we got out again.

The rest of the day was spent with the wee man teaching me how to put furniture together, and me teaching him that screw drivers aren't toys.

Oh, on a slightly different topic... now that we moved out of the Residence Inn (next to work), we're on the look out for a second car. Originally I was intending to buy a clapped out Honda Accord but after joking with my buddies over a beer, I actually decided to take their advice and buy a classic American car. I've got my eye on a 1978 Corvette but today I stumbled across an old VW Bug, a classic Chevy Station Wagon (think National Lampoon), and the promise of a 1965 Mustang - all within my 'measly' price range of about $12000. If all goes to plan, I should be able to sell the car on in six months time for about 80% of the price. Compare that to a clapped out Honda Accord and it's actually better value. Who knew?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.