Not a fire ball

Even though the sun is a ball of fire, this Saturday Sunrise is not (despite appearances) a ball of fire erupting out of a storage silo in Auckland's Wyndham Quarter.

Even so I think it qualifies for a response to this week's word in the 2013 challenge; fire.

I fully expected that there would be too much cloud, and probably also rain, for the rising of the sun to be seen today. However, there was enough clear sky to persuade me to run down to Westhaven. By the time I got there, before the predicted time of sunrise, the clouds had thickened. All I got was a tinge of colour. Turned to head home, and was almost instantly met with icy rain driven into me by a strong wind.

Then, the unexpected. On the way up Shelly Beach Road as it crossed the motorway by a bridge, the sun appeared as a ball of fire through the clouds. I like the many masts of the parked yachts filling the bottom half of the photo. Pleased to be able to get my first Saturday Sunrise for some weeks, and in the process satisfy the challenge.

Large is more dramatic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.