Albert Park

This morning, while I was reading agenda papers, I became conscious of a persistent low rumbling engine noise, accompanied by whistles and horns. I decided to investigate. From the deck we have a snippet of a view of Great North Road, and there were (guessing here) hundreds of motorbikes driving northwest on both sides of the road. I presumed that it was to do with breast cancer awareness month. Belatedly thought to go downstairs onto the road, by which time normal traffic had resumed. A search of news outlets didn't help.

At midday I headed out for a run, specifically intending to get a photo of the clivias in Albert Park, as per the request of S. On Tuesday, I had not posted a similar photo of them, due to my preference being another picture.

My run involved a large loop by way of the Auckland Domain, and on the corner of K Road and Symonds Street (before heading across Grafton Bridge) a motorcycle stopped for the red light, allowing me to see that it was festooned with pink ribbons. So I think my presumption as to the reason for the motorcycles was correct. See the motorcycle and its riders in my blipfolio.

This swathe of colour is on both sides of the start of this path into Albert Park, and the flowers have withstood the wind and rain of the last few days to continue to provide a great show, which is largely better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.