creative lenna

By creativelenna

dancing Nia with becky

I took photos at class today because long-time student Philip (age 86) will have his story in next month's newsletter. Photos were requested from corporate! Nia is a worldwide program of fusion fitness (dance, martial arts, healing arts) and a huge joy in my life.

My mom told me about it originally and I first attended in early 2011. My dad passed away later that year and it was something I could do that let me experience joy and wonder, even though I was dealing with the loss of my father. I talk about that in this video here - a short interview. Nia also opened the way for me to meet many new friends in my new home state with similar interests. Besides that, I grew up taking modern dance classes, so for me it was like coming home!

I took some photos with flash, but some without for less disruption of the class. Of course that has an effect on the photo, but I really like this one. I feel it shares a good sense of the movement we were doing and the light and joy in the room. Hobbs, it reminds me a little of your movement study in the revolving door in the city!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.