Still Rockin'

By RockArea

A Little VC Tenderness

Blanche was very naughty this morning! We were up bright and early for our excursion and as it was persisting down with rain we both went off to the facilities without locking the van so that whoever got back first didn't have to wait in the rain. As I left I wondered if I should grab the keys for security's sake then told myself don't be so paranoid and left them in the side pocket. When I got back and I found the van was locked!!!! Oh no, I never thought it would do that. I suppose it's to do with that business about unlocking the doors and not getting in. The van locks itself again but it wasn't like that and I'm sure she shouldn't have done it - especially when we wanted to get away early. The campsite warden was very helpful. She got me the emergency service number, and got them on the phone for me, then made us a cup of tea (the office wasn't even open this early. In an hour the service van arrived and with a couple of wedges and a piece of stiff wire we were open and out the gate and sitting in the Mess at Duxford with a bacon butty and a cup of coffee.

The main reason for our trip was Lady Marian's wish to look at the VC10 they have at The Imperial War Museum Duxford, She flew on them during her days with BOAC.

The funny thing is that since we moved to the village where we now live Marian has met THREE ex BOAC stewardesses that were flying at the same time as her, so they meet up for coffee and things (I call them the Mile High Club but I don't get any thanks for it). One of the others had said that going on deck brought the memories flooding back as the livery is exactly how it was then.

It would have been good to enjoy the Air Show but it was a foul day. The weather did clear for a little while so they got the flying under weigh early and I have a pile of photos but when the rain came in again we left. It was much more enjoyable to see the planes at Dawlish earlier this year on a beautiful sunny afternoon. We enjoyed looking round the indoor exhibits and the VC10 of course.

So that's my blip, Lady Marian on the steps with that iconic tailplane and the rear mounted engines of one of the greatest passenger planes of all time.

I hope you're not locked out or grounded.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.