Autumnal Basking

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #64

It's a fair time since I've done a long fell race and even though I took it steadily I'm still experiencing something of a comedown. I'd almost forgotten that feeling. The legs are a little sore (although nothing like as sore I was expecting) but it's the head that is somehow suffering the most.

Not that I can really talk from first hand knowledge but I think it's fair to say that running these kind of races is literally trippy - in the sense that you experience the same kind of euphoric highs that people get from taking drugs. And you probably come back down in the same way too. I've been a bit spacey and felt a little flat today. In the old days I used to cure that by just getting out for another long run but, even if time permitted, that's not an option any more. I know my body needs to recover even if my mind is demanding more endorphins!

It's been a day of showers and occasional short bursts of sunshine. I managed to time my little wander around Market Square to coincide with the latter rather than the former - and captured a bit of autumnal basking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.