Doorway Culture

I've had a day at home today, venturing no further than a few hundred yards into town to stretch the legs a bit and grab a blip. It's been grey and drizzly and very uninspiring. I've had work to do but I've been struggling with that, my head still very much in the Langdale Fells. I've put together a little photo story of yesterday's race here, if you're interested. I think it shows rather well why I love the sport of fell running so much. No more words necessary. I think the pictures say it all. I'd like to think it's worth a look.

I used to worry (just a little) about what I'd find to blip on these miserable weekend days when the weather stops you really going anywhere. But not any longer. Something always turns up. This fellow was having a smoke in the pub doorway just down the road a way. It was easy to engage with him because he was a bit short of company, there being no one else in the pub to talk to. He's been in Ilkley for more than 60 years. My town has a very high proportion of incomers so it's always good to meet a native. I joked that I'd lived here in Yorkshire for almost 25 years thus almost qualifying me for my passport, but he put me right in telling me that the qualification is 30 years! Damn.

Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback on yesterday's shot of Scafell Pike. I think it's one of my own favourites. It really was a very special day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.