Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A visit across the border!

Today I spent most of my time on photos. I had to sort a few to go to the local paper for an article about the festival. Then I had to sort out the prints I was taking to Liddersdale Photo Club for a presentation tonight.

We fitted in a GP appointment for Mum, whose legs are still inflamed. She has extra antibiotics to take for a few more days.

I'd checked the route to Newcastleton on the computer. It was quite straightforward. I joined a B road at Gilsland and kept on it. It didn't work out quite like that. The road number quickly disappeared and at junction after junction the word Newcastleton did not appear......... Eventually I stopped to ask a lady walking her dog. She came out with those heart sink words, "this is not a good place to start from" ! Then she told me to go on, turn right and follow the signs to Bailey. This felt a bit surreal, since that, spelled differently, is my name. The people at the pub along the road had very different ideas about the route, so I arrived in good time at the right place.

It's a small club and tonight's attendance was only about 14 people. They were very friendly and some wanted to talk photography after my talk. One chap had some flash questions so I took a few shots with my camera. This is one of the members who "volunteered" to be shot. Thanks to him.

PS I did try to curry favour by mentioning that my surname is spelled the Scottish way. (Baillie)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.