Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Out of the Maelstrom

This is a live blip from the Falcon Inn, with the free wi-fi so I can blip again (batteries permitting)

After the predicted rain cleared quicker than I thought I decided to spend the day on the coast rather than going to the Eden Project which had been my emergency bad weather option.

I started off at a little village Trevone, which had an amazing beach mixed with large outcroppings of rocks, complete with rock pools. By the time I had reached Trevone the weather had really improved, but it was very windy, which resulted in an awesome display of wave power, where breakers kept rolling in and smashing against the rocks.

After a picnic I moved down the coast to Bedruthan Steps, a series of rock stacks just off shore. Standing on top of the cliffs looking down on the stacks i was in awe at the power on display, the tide was coming in and the surf was really rolling in and pounding the coast. There was no beach left as the tide was on the way in, so it saved me a long climb down (and back up) the staircase. I did venture part way down the stairs on the recommendation of another photographer, and this was the result of the trip down. The surf was just frothing up into a maelstrom of power and noise. This really sums up the power that the earth can create. Awesome!

I'll try and blip again tomorrow and also comment once my batteries have recharged. I'm liking the idea of blipping while sat in a pub with a pint of real ale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.