The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

A lucky find!

I was very lucky today, as a Blip opportunity jumped right into my lap!
My colleague Debs had brought a bucket of water from her pond into work as we need some Duckweed for an experiment in a few weeks, and while she was decanting it from the bucket into a small glass trough she realised she had also caught no less than 3 Damselfly nymphs!!
I have no idea which species they are, although judging by how well the wing cases are developing I suspect Large Red Damselfly Pyrrhosoma nymphula.
Not being one to miss a chance of a Blip, I quickly put two of them into a glass beaker, and attempted too take a few shots.
Taking pictures proved more difficult than I imagined, and this is one of the best of a bad bunch, but it does show the nymph's little face and wonderful leaf-like gills, even though he insisted on sitting right on top of the other nymph!!
Photo shoot over we released them into the thick weeds in our school pond....I shall look forward to looking out for Large Red Damselflies in about 6 months time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.