Oh....

What a night!!!!
I ran my trap last night much against my better judgement as it was literally pouring with rain when I got home at 10.15!
Unsure what to do I checked the trap, which was fine, and left it on because I could see one or two moths floating around and I knew the weather forecast said it was to be showery but really mild for October.
I am so glad I did! when I opened it this morning it had some amazing moths in it, including 3 new species for my garden list!
My catch included 2 Barred sallow moths, 1 Green brindled crescent, 1 Silver Y, I black rustic, 2 Common marbled carpet, I Red line quaker, 1 Large yellow underwing, 1 lunar underwing , I Red-green carpet and this The satellite moth.
The Satellite moth Eupsilia transversa, is another fairly common British moth, mainly reddish brown in colour with white or orange reniform stigmata (white dots) with two tiny white 'satellites' either side from which it takes it's name.
It has a wingspan of 32 -42mm and flies from September through the winter to April whenever the conditions are suitably mild. It is especially attracted to sugar, but will also come to light.
More moths to follow........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.