BCAM - Pink Challenge Day 19

Well, it's over ... I have breathed the biggest sigh of relief!!! I felt so nervous and sick I thought I was going to throw up. Perhaps I should have said 'no' to making a wedding cake just after returning from holiday and days before surgery.

I have learnt a LOT from the construction of this cake! Cream cheese frosting will not harden like butter cream icing does ... I need to know the secret. Red velvet/cream cheese icing - they go together, but not good for stacking cakes! Oh, how I've learnt. So as I stacked them, I could start to see the icing bulging under the fondant. Haaaaa .... its been so stressful.

Anyway, it went well, and some of the silver balls did fall off but I had a repair kit right there with me. What looked like a simple design turned out to be really tedious. But I do look at all the imperfections, and sometimes just need to walk away and come back and look with fresh eyes. I have made such smooth cakes with fondant, so am disappointed with myself for not trying harder.

The wedding was LOVELY, really beautiful, a lovely couple, a groom besotted with his bride and it was just refreshing to see. He had eyes only for her, and that's the way it should be.

This picture is a little bit blurry, but I rushed up to get them cutting the cake as there was not much notice. They loved it and loved the flavour, which was red velvet. There IS the tiniest amount of pink in there, honest.

I really wished I could have spent more time on this cake, but it is what it is. Glad today is over and I can focus on worship tomorrow and surgery next week, which is now postponed to 12 noon Wednesday. Thank goodness!

May I encourage you again to click here to help give a free mammogram to someone who really needs it. Thank you so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.