Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker

Isn't that a funny name for a bird? It's proper latin name is Sphyrapicus varius but I like the common name better - more character.

Anyway, easy decision for me in terms of what photo to post today as this is the first one of these I've actually seen. It landed about 20-25 feet away from where I was standing on a hiking trail, and spent several minutes working on the sapling. Enough that I was able to get some decent shots.

Also seen on today's walk: a flock of 15-20 Eastern bluebirds, migrant Rusty Blackbirds, blue-headed vireo, palm warbler, Northern Flicker, yell0w-rumped warblers, song and white-throat sparrows, kingfisher, great blue heron, RC kinglets, chickadees, titmice and red-bellied woodpeckers. A good morning!

I decided to give BlipBear and Kiwi the day off - they are relaxing in the living room at the moment. I shall start planning their next visit. They've told me that they'd like to visit Legacy and her "tribe" so we'll see if we can work out the details to get them on their way soon.

Hubs and I have spent the last few hours working on stacking all the wood from the trees we lost in the storm last month - my back and neck are screaming. Definitely a hot shower is in order, and probably some medicinal wine! (The wine to be applied internally...)

Hope all you lovely people are having a great weekend. I'll try to get caught up on comments, I promise!

Six more shots from this morning on Flickr, starting HERE

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.