Rodents rule

By squirk

Matchstick joggers in Battersea Park

What would Lowry paint today: joggers, people behind computer desks, people texting, folk on the railway platform or waiting at a bus stop, old terraced streets with skyscrapers behind them instead of smoking chimneys, ...? The industries may have changed, but the city workforce still piles towards those tall structures.

My one aim of the weekend was to see the Lowry exhibition at Tate Britain before it finishes tomorrow. The morning was sunny, perfect for a walk from Battersea Park to the gallery. The Tate was very busy, but I don't mind seeing things in the "wrong" order, so I shuffled in to see a painting whenever there was a space. The pictures are so interesting, in their subjects and in the detail and colour. The wee video snippets that showed Lowry painting and life in the North were fascinating.

In the evening, I met up with four friends who I met through bookcrossing many moons ago. I'm not much of an active bookcrosser these days, but I do read and release every so often. I hadn't seen these particular bookcrossers for too long. We used to meet up every week and play board games and this was tonight's aim, but we had so much to catch up on that gaming was out of the question. We're going to get together in January and start gaming again. Whoop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.