Hangingstone Quarry

Worth a bit of large

Thanks so much for joining in the fun on yesterday's blip. There was a photo shoot happening on top of the rocks and it certainly offered some great photo opportunities for me. This view here gives more of an idea. The photographer and his assistant were there for ages, armed with two hefty DSLRs, taking pictures from every conceivable angle. I knew the shot I wanted to take but the direction wasn't really happening for me. A couple of years ago I would have run past. A year ago I would have taken a few quick pictures and carried on with my run. Yesterday I exercised some considerable patience and also had the confidence to offer a bit of direction myself. I made the obvious suggestion to the photographer and they tried it out, just the once, to great effect. I guess it wasn't the shot they were after. I hope they got theirs out of all the thousands they must have taken. I was happy that I got mine. I had just the one take on it and managed to get the timing just right. I really appreciate all the comments and stars and hearts guys.

Last night I met up with Spartan in Leeds to see the Smoke Fairies, whom we saw and got to meet a year ago in Hebden Bridge. I was keen to blip before going out so I wouldn't be distracted from the music by the photography. The support act might actually have stolen my blip last night: a band called Rasputina, fronted by the multi-talented and very colourful Melora Creager, who once played Cello on tour with Nirvana. This is cello-driven folk rock with a nod to steampunk in style. It was a feast for both eyes and ears. As was the set from the Smoke Fairies, playing some of their older music. I love their sound. It's hard to compare them with anybody. Their guitar work is sublime and their vocal harmonies are simply haunting. With roots in both blues and folk they deliver a melodic and melancholy music that somehow invades the soul. I was transported to another world last night.

I'm normally one for enjoying a gig and slipping quietly away, but no chance of that with Spartan in tow. We got a chance to chat with Katherine and Jessica again. They should have no doubt now that we're their biggest fans! It was an odd experience walking back to the train station, the whole of Leeds having spilled out on to the street as if it were a summer evening. It was astonishingly mild for late October. I was out in a just a thin shirt, as was just about everyone else.

Today has been and gone in a flash, out and about a bit, getting odd jobs sorted, getting some work done. I went for another run on the moor and took quite a few shots in what were excellent conditions again for photography. I've been so spoiled for choice this weekend. I've chosen this shot of Hangingstone Quarry in the end, taken no more than fifty yards from where yesterday's fun picture was taken. I love the resonance between the various elements here, the way the patterns in the sky mirror the patterns in the foreground. I've taken many shots from this spot but I think this has to be my favourite. Everything seems to come together here. I seem to have developed this knack of being at the right place at just the right time. It never ceases to amaze me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.