Samhain

For most, Halloween is a night for dressing up, having parties and trick-or-treating. To prepare for Halloween we do some pumpkin carving. Most people do not know that Halloween is based on a Celtic holiday known as Samhain (sow-wan) which means, “summers end.
Carving pumpkins into jack-o-lanterns where though to protect against certain spirits and hey, I am not messing with success. Therefore, we did our own pumpkin carving, pumpkin painting and pumpkin decorating as well. My grandson and granddaughter did the painting and my son did the carving although my grandson helped a lot with the ‘gutting’ of the pumpkin. We made pumpkin seeds in the oven with just a little sea salt added for flavor. They came out good.
My daughter had this hysterical princess decorating kit for my granddaughter’s pumpkin, which she loved. As you can see, I had a hard time deciding on exactly what picture to use. The sun was low in the sky as we finished up with the pumpkins so it made from some great photos.
Of course, Tessa seemed a bit jealous of all the attention the pumpkins were getting and even though we had her outside with us running around, and even though I fed her, walked her, and made sure she had water. She still POOPED in the house! UGH! This was after a very ‘successful’ walk! I swear she was being spiteful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.