Combi31

By Combi31

Red Squirrel

First of all, I'd like to sincerely thank all who commented and gave a fav / stars to my kingfisher yesterday - thank you very much.

I went out this morning, instead of this evening, as there was a bit of cloud cover today that affected the light and I thought it wasn't going to get any better as the day progressed, although it is quite warm, around 26°c.

See it bigger here for more squirreliness

On the way down to the lakes, I saw a buzzard in its usual place, a big red deer doe crossed the path in front of me, but I only managed to get her disappearing into the forest. There was also a red deer stag in the high brush between the river and the forest _ I could see exactly where he went to ground, but I bottled out of going in after him as I know there are a lot of wild boar here too - didn't want to meet one of them head-on!

So there I was, stood stock-still under a tree snapping off some pics of long-tailed tits, when this little chap came bounding along so close that I couldn't focus near enough with my lens.

This has happened a few times with deer, hare and birds, they just know that something is not right, but if I don't move they hear just the shutter going off and don't feel at all threatened.

Today, is my 365th blip - one year of blip - I know that is nothing to some who have been doing this for years, but it's quite a milestone, and one which I have enjoyed immensely.

The community, I think we can call it that, is very supportive and on-the-whole a very friendly place, with some really fabulous photographers and some very generous, kind, constructive and helpful people.

I know that I shouldn't really be the one that says this, but my photos have improved immensely due to blip, although in part also to a Tumblr one-pic-a-day for a year, that I did with some of you who are now on here.

If anyone asked me what Blip is, I think I'd say that is a bit like cigarettes - we know that we should maybe do less, but the pull is always there ... some try to give up, but very soon are back on to it again.
Some of our blips 'taste' better at particular times of the day - typically sunrise and sunset ...
If you blip and you are among non-blippers, you may have to go outside and carry on your conversation away from these people, who just can't understand the pull of blipping.

However, if you meet another blipper, whilst outside, then you will probably stay longer and chat longer than you really should about something that you both share in common.

I think I'm losing the cigarette analogy here ... apart from the fact that if you do decide to try and cut down, you may have a bit of a job ahead of you - the camera will always be with you as soon as you leave the house ... just in case ...

A camera without an SD card (yes, we've all done that one) is a bit like a smoker with their pack of cigarettes and no lighter ...
It can probably reduce stress in some way - although tell that to the blipper who hasn't yet got their blip for the day as the rain clouds move in and darkness starts falling.

Most non-blippers say that they just don't have the time to do anything like blip - blippers, conversely would smile wryly and suggest that you don't have the time not to blip!

William Shakespeare famously quipped over a pint of Guinness - "To blip, or not to blip, that is the question, whether t'is nobler in the mind etc. etc....".

So all that to say that Blip is thoroughly addictive and a very nice place 'to be'
We sometimes just know we should maybe be doing something else ... but would we really want that ... course not.

Looking forward to the next 365 as long as you are going to be there :)

I hope your Friday is a really good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.