Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

A selfie at 931 metres

Climbed Skiddaw in theLake District today. 4th time for me. 1st time for the brother in law but he made it and enjoyed the same sense of achievement I feel each time I do it. Experienced all sorts of weather. Was raining when we set off. Wind got up. Clouds came down. Driving mist. I loved it. Just adds to the whole sense of battling the elements.

On the way down, we passed a fell runner going up. Female. Maybe mid 30s. Wearing a pair of shorts and a bra top. Nothing else. We must of looked like right wimps dressed up as we were. Obviously soft southerners :-)

Must say I've been very impressed with the nightlife in Keswick. We have pre-drinks in a tapas bar last night before a memorable (for all the wrong reasons) dinner. Finished off the evening in a pub with live music. The guy played guitar, percussion and harmonica and sang the blues. Brillaint.

This evening we went to a bar/restaurant that sold over 50 different beers and had a decent menu to boot. Salt and pepper squid for me followed by moules et frites. All washed down with several glasses of Jaipur, and indian Ple Ale. Great evening. Topped it off in the same pup as last night with another live musician. He was good enough but just not my cup of tea. Modern teen oriented music.

last day tomorrow. A decent walk I think and maybe back to tonights bar/restaurant. It was really good

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.