The finishing post

Terrible wind up on top of Skiddaw today. Must have been something I ate. No, seriously, I have never experienced such strong winds. I could actually lean into it without falling over and on more than one occasion, was thrown off course by the strength of the wind. I asked Matthew to get my camera out of the rucksack and take a picture, but he refused. I can understand why. He had no gloves and was trying to keep his hands warm in his pockets. In the time taken to faff around with the cover and zips on my rucksack, his fingers would be frozen. Talking of fingers, Andrews returned to normal yesterday evening and the returned to their sausage state on today's walk, so we are either talking an allergy to his gloves, a reaction to the cold or a reaction to the physical exertion.

Waited for Matthew in Magnolia last night, the bar that sells more than 50 different beers. Andrew's round, and I fancied a whisky. He recommended an Aedberg, which I was quite happy to try. Barmaid poured it, punched in the code on the till and then looked very apologetically at Andrew. That will be £10.80 she said. For a single spirit. Very nice though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.