Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Buzz off!

Can't you see I'm busy here, lady?

We had our first heavy frost last night, which sent most of the annuals to their graves, except a few dahlias near the house and a couple of clumps of marigolds. So, after a nice long birding walk this morning, I started doing some more clean-up in the annual garden, pulling out the flowers that are clearly finished and leaving those who still have a bit of life left, or those that produce seed heads that the birds will eat.

Much to my surprise, there were several hoverflies and a few big bumble bees still trying to gather some sweet stuff. I opted to go with the huge bumbler for today's blip because of the way he was trying to fend off my camera with his leg - it always makes me laugh when they do this. I posted a couple of shots of two different hoverflies on Flickr, starting HERE. The first one is the largest hoverfly I've ever seen - will have to do some research and see if I can get a better id on it.

Hard to believe that a year ago, we were overrun with Pine Siskins right now, whereas this year they are not in our area at all. And our cherry trees were in full fall colors last year, while they've only just started to change now. It is interesting to me to track the seasonal changes from one year to the next - one of the many things I love about keeping a photo journal.

Hubs and I are both pottering outside today - it's another beautiful, sunny, crisp day. The kind that makes you seek any reason to be outside!

I'll check in later. For now, Happy Saturday!

ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.