Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Teachers Teaching Teachers

Today it was our turn to host the (17th) annual Autumn Teachers Conference where the overall concept is 'teachers teaching teachers' - sharing ideas and learning from each other through workshops and presentations. Hundreds of teachers from Istanbul and more than 300 presentations throughout the day. I attended three. Students creative writing, (thank you Janet - very interesting), using 'Noodletools' (thank you Karen, this was illuminating and I want to find out more about this great resource) and a fascinating seminar exploring links between Music and Maths, presented by my maths colleague, (thank you Andrew) who was inspired by Hofstadter. My own presentation was about the Mixed Media collage and Abstraction project I do with my Art students but I also shared a collaborative drawing project that my students always enjoy where everyone gets a small piece of Gary Hodges "Bengal Tiger" that they enlarge and copy. We assemble all the finished pieces like a puzzle and the result is a super large copy of Gary Hodge's original drawing which is also the first time the students get to see the whole picture. Great fun every time.

Very tired now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.