MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

"Talking Turkeys"

Woke to the sound of the wind at first light and jumped out of bed in the hope of capturing the drama. It's not easy. My pics didn't look very dramatic. :( Gusts were whipping across the lake and flipping up the water lily leaves and I captured a pair of mallards flying over them. Didn't look windy at all. We've lost the crown out of a weeping willow and a few large branches have come down from other trees without causing any damage. Then it was all over.

A mate mentioned that his daughter informed him that it is 58 days until Christmas, which prompted me to get another shot of my friends the turkeys. The evening sun shines straight into their barn. There's a gap between two sheets of corrugated iron not quite big enough to stick my lens through.

I hope it doesn't sound disrespectful but my pic reminds me of the photograph Norman Parkinson took of the Queen and Princess Margaret with the Queen Mother on her 80th birthday in 1980. They were wearing identical, high-necked, blue satin jackets and in one version the Queen Mother is backlit, giving her a silver hair halo. I love the image. At the time it was said that the pic was reminiscent of Van Dyck's Charles I in three positions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.