MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Fantastic! Mr One-Eyed Fox Is Still Alive

I made a start on carving my Harlequin squash this morning. They are much more dense and more difficult to work with than pumpkins but I like to try something different and they're so attractive with their cream and green stripes.

The sun came out after lunch, I put my kneepads on and went searching for bugs. Lots of flies on the ivy and I got a beautiful grasshopper basking on the wall. As I turned the corner into 'butterfly alley' I peered through a broken pane into disused glasshouse number thirteen, as I always do, having seen a one-eyed fox there twice before.

There it was in exactly the same position. I was so pleased to see it alive and looking in very good condition. I took lots of shots with my macro lens, which is all I had with me. It didn't appear to be able to see me and I don't think it could hear me either. I coughed and whistled but it didn't move. The only thing it reacted to slightly was the chirrup of my camera. I think it must be nearly deaf as well as blind. :( Amazing how it is surviving and looking so well. :)

On the way back to the house I shot a white violet in full bloom, a first for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.