She Keeps Her Moët & Chandon In A Pretty Cabinet

Things didn't go to plan today. My sister who lives in France is visiting to see Mother and help deal with Homestead business. I made some Greek style stuffed tomatoes that I intended to serve for lunch. Our parents grew tomatoes and we lived on them as children. I thought it would be appropriate to serve tomatoes for what might be the last meal we eat together in the family home.

We had told Sally about a local tearoom and the extravagantly dressed Essex ladies who lunch there. She was anxious to visit. Unfortunately I was wearing wellies and hadn't brought any other footwear with me. I padded in wearing MrQ's socks. What goes on in the Love Shack Bar under that corrugated iron roof? When do they fire up the hot-tub?

By the time we had dealt with our business it was mid-afternoon and too late for our tomato feast. We sat at the dining table and shared a vintage bottle of Moët & Chandon champagne, a plate of root vegetable crisps and lots of stories. I got the Dartington crystal glasses out of a very ugly German cabinet. I bought them for my mother ages ago as I loved the teardrop bubbles in the stems. With apologies to all Sharons reading this, I wasn't so keen on their Essex girl name.

I've heard that my toms went down well at dinner. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.