Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

The power of reading.

When I was a teacher parents would bemoan the fact that their child didn't seem interested in reading. I would ask them how often they sat down and spent time reading for themselves . The answer was invariably ...never.

I asked them - would they smoke in front of the children. The answer was no...they agreed such behaviour would encourage their children to smoke.

So why not read? Normalise the behaviour of reading. Let their child copy that behaviour.

I would suggest that dads job (or at least one parent) should get home from work and spend 20 minutes, having a sit down, a glass of water or a cup of tea and read something, the newspaper, a book, anything, every day.

Whilst this suggestion was met with universal approval, especially by dads, I doubt that anyone did it!

Rant over!

Had a fun day today. Mr H is on half term so the best way of getting him out of bed was the offer of an all day breakfast at Morrisons. Good fun.

He studied and I did admin. Then I popped over to see missymoo and show Mr W some maths tricks and do a blip. Then a trip into Ealing, our old stamping ground and see the old gang for a curry. It brought back many memories and we had a good catch up.

We've all got more time now kids are growing up, but I think were all feeling older!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.