Getting Into The Spirit Of Things?

Amazing what can be achieved in a hurry!

Having rushed out on Monday and bought the material for the requested "Zombie Bride" Halloween outfit, I spent Monday evening making said Zombie Bride dress - my sewing skills are not very advanced.

On Tuesday morning, Niamh asked me when we would finish the outfit as I would be out that night. I blithely said we would get it all finished on Wednesday.

On Tuesday night when I came home from Spanish class she informed me that the school Halloween Disco was on Wednesday night - help ma' boab! Panic!!

I told her not to worry, we would get the dress finished on Wednesday afternoon after school - plenty of time! Happy girl.....

Then.....

8.15am this morning as I was driving the boys to school I suddenly remembered.... I work 2-6pm on Wednesdays!! Arrgggh!

Daddy was given the option of:
a) complete the making of said Zombie Bride outfit and crack on with the facepainting,
vs
b) come in to work at 5pm and cover for me so I could get the deed done!

Guess what the answer was?

I still hate Halloween but as I was sorting out the veil and stitching on straggly bits, Niamh said "you're cool"! That made it all worthwhile...

(She did mention later that apparently cool stands for Constipated Overweight Old Ladies! She assured me that was NOT what she meant though! I will cling to the warm tingly feeling that possibly a 9 year old perhaps thinks her mum might be cool in the real sense of the word!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.