Bits and Pieces

Today has been a mixed day resulting in a blip compilation (or a blip-cheat, as I sometimes call it!) cos my brain can't make its mind up. The day began with gazing at the moon in the morning sky ...

When you're on your last legs
and feel in despair,
look to the moon:
though she shrinks to a sliver,
the moon's a survivor;
like her you'll shine again soon.

Then spotted the tortoiseshell butterfly ...

A crack in the wall
A break from the autumn winds
A butterfly rests

Then one of the resident jackdaws (maybe this one) came into closer view ...

Who saw
the jackdaw?
I saw the jackdaw.
You saw the jackdaw?
Yes, by the back front door!

And finally ... as Mr PP's bro-in-law joined him up on the roof (maybe that's why Mr Jackdaw came down?) I decided to take myself off to town and find the first hairdresser who could fit me in ...

My hair growth always takes me by surprise.
I don't know why.
I've had hair all my life; it's always grown.
And yet, I'll wake one day and feel its weight,
look in the mirror, see a messy thatch,
wonder how it reached this state and want
to reach for scissors – fix it, there and then,
like cutting finger nails or nails on toes –
and, as for them, I have to say, “Same goes!”
My nails' growth always takes me by surprise.

poem © Celia Warren 2013

After today's glorious mild sunshine, the rain has returned. In due course we shall discover if the fellas fixed the leaking roof ... Fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.