The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Mallard glitter

I know it's Halloween, but I haven't seen a witch or a pumpkin all day. It was a wicked night when I came home, pouring with rain, enough to deter the hardiest and most Goretex clad trick or treater. So my offering is a mallard on a tussock next to an alder tree at the eroding edge of the River Kent. I had already failed to find a leaping salmon. The glitter on the water was from one of the rare appearances of the sun.

One spooky thing did happen today. I had a comment on this blip from over two years ago when we came across an unusual epitaph on a headstone in the Heysham cemetery. The comment was left by a phantom blipper, someone with no journal entries and not a subscriber. Some of the new text he supplied is visible in the photo, but not all of it, and I don't remember seeing some of the words, or seeing it in other Internet references to the headstone. But it does add interesting detail to what I had been able to find out. How did he happen on that blip without an exhaustive trawl through my back catalogue (which hasn't happened today)?

I shall be away for a few days, visiting my Dad. I'm not taking the iPad, so will not have a way of uploading a blip, so I shall be absent from here too.

Finally, thoughts are with my colleague T who was taken ill in the office today.

ps Reggie went into the fridge last night for his hibernation for the next 4-5 months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.