The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Conservation conversation

The conservation cow corps were managing vegetation on the top of Arnside Knott this morning. Amongst them was this lady who stopped to have a chat, a British White, with characteristic black ears and nose and curly white head. This is my favourite breed, even more so than the Highlands who graze in Redhills Pasture on the other side of the wall from here. The Knott is a great place to see the scarcer breeds of cows at the moment, and these ladies manage on a diet that modern breeds would quickly wither away on.

It was also a great place for Gus this morning. He was so excited when I got up this morning, knowing he was going to have his first walk up there since last Friday. While I was away down south seeing my Dad, Wifie was over in East Yorkshire with Gus helping the family in preparing Nancy's house for renting out.

The old flyer was in good spirits. It wasn't the most relaxing of visits as I spent most of the time sorting out masses of paperwork, and helping him to get his tax returns done. It's a bit of a nonsense that he should make a tax return at all, living as he does on his old age and work pensions. But for reasons too tedious to go into, he has to do it, and the tax man makes no concession for age and frailty. Anyway, enough of that, I managed a couple of very brief trips out into the New Forest, and we had a visit from baby Oliver who is much bigger again than when we saw him in August.

I will try and find time to put on some back blips, but will probably leave comments off for them. Sorry that I have not been logging in to view and comment, and have missed quite a few blip day celebrations. I shall catch up soon.

ps The first brambling of the season for me, one hopping about at the end of the prom by the entrance to Ashmeadow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.